Community News

Wilson is District 6 Conservation Officer of the Year

Indiana Conservation Officer Nick Wilson has been selected as the 2022 District 6 Officer of the Year. District 6 includes Hendricks, Marion, Hancock, Shelby, Johnson, Morgan, Bartholomew, Brown, and Monroe counties.

Wilson is assigned to Hendricks County where he has served since 2018. Before transferring, he served in Marion County.

In addition to his normal duties as a field officer, Wilson serves as a background investigator, public safety diver, passenger for hire inspector, river rescue instructor, field training officer, and airboat operator.    

The district award puts Wilson in the running for the Pitzer Award, which is presented to the top overall conservation officer in the state and is selected from the 10 district winners.

The Pitzer Award is named after Conservation Officer James D. Pitzer, who was fatally shot while investigating illegal hunting activity on Jan. 2, 1961, in Jay County.