Local News

Former Morristown coach inducted into Delaware County Athletic Hall of Fame

Scott McClelland was one of 14 men and women inducted Saturday night into the Delaware County Athletic Hall of Fame.

The current boys basketball coach at Noblesville High School led Morristown High School in northern Shelby County to the 2018 Class A boys basketball state championship.

McClelland (photo, right) is a Yorktown High School graduate who played one year of college basketball at Ancilla College before transferring to Ball State University to pursue his teaching license.

His coaching career started at his alma mater where he served as a girls basketball assistant coach for three years. He left Yorktown in 1998 to become Wapahani’s girls basketball coach. In 1999 he was named the Mid-Eastern Conference Coach of the Year.

McClelland’s boys basketball coaching career began with stints as an assistant coach at Blue River Valley, Cathedral and Scecina.

In August of 2008, he was hired as Morristown’s boys basketball coach for his first of two runs with the Class A program.

After tremendous success over seven seasons, McClelland left Morristown for the head coaching position at Brebeuf Jesuit on Indianapolis’ north side. He spent two seasons there before moving on to Western Boone, where he secured career win No. 100 during his three-year stint.

In 2015, McClelland returned to Morristown and built the program into a state champion. He was named the 2018 Indiana Basketball Coaches Association District 8 Coach of the Year.

In 18 seasons as a head coach, McClelland is 246-169.

The 2021 induction class also included Ernest Young, Kim Worrell, Naomi “Mia” Tabberson, Jill (Miller) McCarville, Connie (Bousman) Lyon, Brad Kinsey, Steve Kehoe, Doug Kehoe, Davyd Jones, Greg Heban, Sacha (Gill) Burkett, Shannon McCormick II, Amanda (McCormick) Stafford and Chase Wright.