Local Sports

Ten Shelby County cross country runners qualify for regional competition

Five Shelbyville runners and five Southwestern runners qualified for cross country regional competition.

At the Franklin Sectional Saturday morning, Michael Fox (photo, back row left) and Elijah Von Werder (photo, back row right) scored top-40 finishes for Shelbyville to move on to the regional.

In the girls race, Shelbyville senior Stefanie Howard (photo, front row center) finished seventh overall to earn another race. She will be joined by teammates Kaila Brattain (photo, front row left) and Hannah Wright (photo, front row right) at the Franklin Regional.

Fox completed the course in 18 minutes, 53 seconds for a 33rd-place finish. Von Werder was 36th in 19:03.

The top five finishing teams advanced to regional races as did the top 10 individual finishers not on an advancing team.

 Also running Saturday at the sectional for Shelbyville were Beau Kenkel (19:46), Tristin Maloney (19:53), Ben Hinojosa (20:55) and Isaiah Havens (25:10).

The Golden Bears were eighth in the team standings.

Shelbyville’s girls missed advancing as a team by 31 points. The Golden Bears were sixth at 159 points. Indian Creek finished fifth with 128.

Howard completed the course in 21:10 for a top-10 finish. Brattain was 23rd (22:50) and Wright was 36th (23:47). Also competing for Shelbyville were Angel Kreider (25:07) and Daisy Barrett (30:52).

Waldron finished 10th in the boys standings and did not have enough girls to set a team score.

Waldron was led by Will Larrison (19:50). Jared Crosby crossed the finish line in 20:06. Caden Shaeffer (21:55), Skylar Ferguson (22:02), Ethan Richardson (22:19) and Nathaniel Evans (24:22) followed.

Hallie Ross led the Mohawks in the girls race at 25:48. Audrey Hogg (26:43), Cheyenne Lozier (26:52) and Sophie Hudnall (27:10) rounded out the roster.

Brown County Regional

Southwestern advanced three girls and two boys to the Columbus North Regional.

Lilly Rooks (22nd, 22:48), Gracie Schlabach (24th, 22:57) and Jenna Drake (31st, 24:39) advanced for Southwestern. The Spartans only had four runners Saturday with Maxine Higdon (27:38) completing the roster.

In the boys team standings, Southwestern finished eighth.

Koty Claiborne (35th, 19:38) and Dane Kissell (39th, 19:56) qualified for the regional.

Also running for Southwestern were Collin Cummings (20:48), Ryan Griffin (21:30) and Elias Clark (23:01).

Mt. Vernon Sectional

Morristown and Triton Central traveled to Hancock County for postseason competition and did not have anyone advance to regional competition.

Owen Sprinkle led Triton Central with a time of 20:59. Elizijuh Israel followed in 23:08. Hank Hadler finished in 23:38. Lucas Bear crossed the finish line in 24:48 and Corbin Maurice finished in 26:36.

For Morristown, Zavier Poole finished in 21:18. T.J. Butcher followed in 22:14 and Braydon Burris crossed in 26:52.

In the girls race, Morristown’s Grace McLaughlin finished in 25:19 while Triton Central’s Brooke Bear ran the course in 37:46.