Forgot Password

Not a Member? Sign up here!

Local Sports

IHSAA Executive Committee approves 2022 basketball sectional host sites

The Indiana High School Athletic Association’s Executive Committee approved boys and girls basketball sectional host sites for 2022.

The biggest change for Shelby County programs comes in Class 2A, Sectional 42 where Heritage Christian returns to 2A and will host the postseason girls basketball tournament that includes Triton Central, Eastern Hancock, Scecina and Irvington Prep.

Triton Central has won four straight sectional titles and eight since 2012 but will have to go through the state’s most decorated program in Heritage Christian, which has been in 3A in recent seasons due to the IHSAA’s success factor.

The Eagles have a state record seven state titles, with their last coming in 2016 that finished off a three-year run as state champs. Heritage Christian won four straight state titles from 2006-2009.

The Eagles finished 15-8 last season under first-year coach Cassie Wiseman.

In Class 4A, Shelbyville will join Center Grove, Franklin, Greenwood and Whiteland at Franklin Central for Sectional 13.

Waldron will host Sectional 60 in Class A which also features Hauser, Jac-Cen-Del, Morristown, Oldenburg Academy, Rising Sun and Southwestern.

The regional sites for the five Shelby County schools will be Columbus North (4A), Southmont (2A) and Southwestern (A).

Semistate sites are LaPorte, Logansport, Jasper and Jeffersonville.

The state championship games will be Feb. 26 at Gainbridge Fieldhouse, formerly known as Bankers Life Fieldhouse, in Indianapolis.



Greenwood is the host site for Class 4A, Sectional 13 in the boys tournament.

Triton Central will travel to South Ripley for Sectional 44 which also includes Milan, North Decatur and South Decatur.

Southwestern is the boys host site for Sectional 60.

The regional host sites for a Shelby County team that wins a sectional will be Seymour (4A), Greenfield-Central (2A) and Martinsville (A).

Semistate sites are Lafayette Jefferson, Elkhart, Washington and Seymour.

The state championship games will be played March 26 at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.