Local Sports

Triton Central sophomore kicker earns All-State selection

A nearly perfect kicking season earned Triton Central sophomore Levi Dewey election to the Indiana Football Coaches Association’s Class 2A Junior All-State Team.

Dewey (photo) converted 36 of 37 extra-point attempts this past season and made 7 of 8 field goal attempts to tally 57 points for a sectional-champion Tigers squad.

Dewey was one of 27 players selected for the Junior All-State Team in Class 2A.

Dewey was joined on the Offensive team by linemen Eli Buckley (Eastern), Joe Jendreas (Whiting), Adam Bedock (LaVille), Aiden Schaefer (Lafayette Central Catholic) and Dane Sebert (Eastside), tight end Carmell Perry (Speedway), wide receivers Patrick Clacks III (Andrean) and Evan Dienhart (Lafayette Central Catholic), quarterback Mason Wunderlich (Evansville Mater Dei), running backs Tyler Dollar (Lapel) and Eli Carter (Tipton) and athlete Joey Pierre (Evansville Mater Dei).

The 2A Defensive team includes linemen Jordan Cree (Rensselaer Central), Wrigley Franklin (Linton-Stockton), Tamir Woods (Scecina) and Hunter Wright (Eastbrook), linebackers Wyatt Woodall (Southmont), Noah Richhart (LaVille), Collin Thompson (Heritage Christian) and Devan Kent (North Knox), defensive backs Hunter Gennicks (Linton-Stockton), Mason Beriault (Scecina), Austin Goodrich (Wheeler) and Nick Thompson (Fort Wayne Bishop Luers), punter Lucas Plummer (LaVille) and athlete DeeJay McFerson (Speedway).

Other notable Junior All-State selections include wide receiver Micah McKay, defensive lineman Jacob Roberts and athlete Kam Patterson (Class A Lutheran), defensive lineman Jackson New and defensive back Kolton Nanko (Class 3A Yorktown), punter Sam West (Class 3A Greensburg), offensive lineman Sam Mossoney (Class 4A Pendleton Heights), running back Andrew Zellers and defensive lineman Brad Allen (Class 4A Greenfield-Central), defensive lineman Hunter Wallace (Class 4A Delta), defensive back George Burhenn (Class 4A Mt. Vernon), and defensive back Isaiah Thacker (Class 4A New Palestine).

Notables selected to the IFCA Senior All-State teams include offensive lineman Christian Pulliam (Class A Lutheran), quarterback Riley Palmeter (Class A Edinburgh), offensive lineman Nicholas Boots, wide receiver Eli McDurmon, defensive lineman James Ralph and athlete Bryce Humphrey (Class 2A Evansville Mater Dei), running back Dequan Stennis and Luke Soultz (Class 2A Scecina), defensive back Reis Walker (Class 2A Speedway), offensive lineman Ray Wells, wide receiver Ashden Gentry, and quarterback Gehrig Slunaker (Class 4A Mt. Vernon), defensive back Rashawn Street (Class 4A Greenfield-Central) and defensive back Madix Johnson (Class 4A New Palestine).