Local Sports

FTA baseball crowns summer champions

Future Tiger Athletics recently crowned its summer baseball regular season and tournament champions in Fairland.

The Cubs (main photo) captured both regular season and postseason championships in the 6- to 8-year-old division, which includes kid pitch and coach pitch.

The division had four teams – Cubs, Reds, Orioles and Yankees. The Reds were crowned runners-up in the division.

Representing the Cubs in the photo were (front row, from left): Jamison Landis, Rodger Gonzalez Siegel, Mason Blair and Hayden Davis; (second row, from left) Oakley Turner, Darren Leavelle, Jacoby Baldwin, Gavin Ploog and Josiah Mapes; (third row, from left) coaches Dave Ploog, Dutch Jennings, Bob Mathews and Pat Mapes.

In the 3- to 5-year-old division, the Mets were crowned regular season champions. There were six teams in the division – Mets, Braves, Rockies, Royals, Pirates and Red Sox.



The Mets (photo above) are (front row, from left): James Mohr, Joseph Mohr, Quinnyn Skipton, Anderson Brown, Max Martin, Kyelyn Skipton and McKenna Smith; (back row, from left) coaches Andrea Mohr, Ben Mohr and Kris Skipton. Not pictured is Myla Martin.



The Red Sox won the postseason tournament title.

The Red Sox (photo above) are (front row, from left): Natalie Emsweller, Sophia Barnhill, Wyatt Perfield, Zander Mapes, Nash Sutherland, Hunter Bangel and Evalynn Robinson; (back row) coach Doug Sutherland. Not pictured are Mara Ruby Lockett and coach Zach Lockett.