Local Sports

MHC honors area basketball players; Waldron's Anthony Thomas named Coach of the Year

Fourteen area basketball players earned All-Conference honors based on their performances this season.


Waldron won the Mid-Hoosier Conference girls basketball title with a perfect 6-0 mark. That helped Nichole Garner, Bella Larrison and Lauryn Thomas earn All-MHC recognition.


Conference runner-up Southwestern (5-1) was represented by Abby Muck, Trinity Tatlock and Lexi Wilkins.


Tyson Conrady photo

Southwestern senior Trinity Tatlock was named to the Mid-Hoosier Conference's All-Conference girls basketball team.


Morristown (4-2) finished third in the conference standings. Rylee Kleine and Emma Theobald were named All-MHC.


Completing the All-MHC girls squad were South Decatur’s Lana Bell, North Decatur’s Haley Gorrell, Edinburgh’s Annelise Lollar and Hauser’s Kyleigh Parrott.


Receiving honorable mention status were Waldron's Megan Bogemann, Southwestern's Maggie Correll and Lily Kerber, Morristown's Raegan Kleine, South Decatur's Loryn Pate and Hauser's Hannah Taylor.


Waldron head coach Anthony Thomas, who guided the Mohawks to an 18-4 season, was named Girls Basketball Coach of the Year.


Morristown had three boys basketball players selected all-conference.


Kyle Crim, Sawyer Jones and Drake Moore led the Yellow Jackets to an 18-4 season so far (4-2 in MHC). Postseason play begins Tuesday.


Aiden Hartsell and Anick Hartsell represented Southwestern on the squad. The Spartans are 10-10 this season (3-3 MHC).


Tyler Bowlby was the lone Waldron selection. The Mohawks are 5-17 (0-6 MHC).


Also named All-MHC were Hauser’s Bryce Bates, Edinburgh’s Caleb Dewey and Travis Jones, South Decatur’s Hunter Johnson and Lane Lauderbaugh, and North Decatur’s Lance Nobbe.


Five more players earned honorable mention recognition. They were Edinburgh's Isaac Roberts, South Decatur's Jacob Scruggs and Tyler Sporleder, Southwestern's Ethan Wendling and Waldron's Bryce Yarling.


South Decatur captured the MHC title with a 6-0 record. Edinburgh was runner-up at 5-1.


Edinburgh’s Keith Witty was named Boys Basketball Coach of the Year.